News Splash/ U2 – “Get On Your Boots!”

This week has been one busy week. Not only was there the incredible inauguration, with amazing celebrations, but some new things just came out! It was around the time U2 was performing for the inauguration celebration (broadcasted on HBO) that I was informed about U2’s new single Get On Your Boots!

At first, it really reminded me of Radiohead. After a few listens, however, it reminded me of an older album of theirs, even though I cannot really pinpoint which one. Either way, definitely looking forward to the new album!

Off-topic: Coconut Records latest album Davy was just released January 20, 2009, so check that out! I believe their latest single is Microphone.

~ by Ke on January 23, 2009.

7 Responses to “News Splash/ U2 – “Get On Your Boots!””

  1. what do you think the song is about? what boots is bono talking about?

  2. What a disaster of a song. What were they thinking?
    I’m not surprised you like this – you seem to like a lot of noise lately =p

  3. I think they are talking about getting out and doing something. I figured the “Sexy boots” was referring to it being, well, sexy, being active and taking charge. From the references in the song, it seems to be more global based than something at a personal level, but it is U2. What do you think?

    Athens, yes, yes I am. This is not the same kind of “noise” though! Maybe the album will not be disappointing to you as this song is?

  4. I was thinking along similar lines, that with the timing, and the kind of band that U2 is, that they’re talking about doing altruistic things. And I guess, “sexy boots” suggests that Bono thinks service is sexy. But then again, what was their last album about?

  5. From the few songs I am remembering, the lyrics seemed based more on human emotions concerning each other, rather than something more universal, but honestly I will probably have to re-listen. What did you think it was about?

  6. Maaaan, you know there is such thing in the web like search engine, http://google.com if you don’t, go there to understand why this post is bullshit

  7. You are right, there is Google. I guess you prefer searching everything on Google before asking people for their opinions on certain things. To each their own?

Leave a Reply

 
