Limelight/ Wildbirds & Peacedrums

I was lucky enough to catch Wildbirds & Peacedrums open for Lykke Li last night at the Sixth & I Historic Synagogue and I am definitely glad I gave them a chance live. The vocals are really different from anything I’ve ever heard before, so you really can’t listen like you would with other stuff. Mariam Wallentin seriously has a unique voice. At random times I would get reminded of Lykke Li, Fiest, and Bjork, and I know I have not really listened to anything like her. It wasn’t until the drums from their first song started determining my heartbeat that I started to focus on the energy of the vocals as well.  The music, drums mostly done by her husband Andreas Wallentin, really brings it all together, creating intense and melodic beats and completing the vocals in the song. When I first checked out their Myspace, I had realized how their music sort of just went into the background, but sometimes seeing is believing when it comes to realizing how amazing an artist is. At times they can sound a bit too random but their name really does compliment their sound.

Video: Wildbirds & Peacedrums – There is No Light

P.S. We may have a new author on this blog? Athens, a friend of mine, has somewhat agreed to sharing his discoveries and random ramblings on this blog. Hopefully he does, because his taste is quite interesting!

~ by Ke on February 1, 2009.

5 Responses to “Limelight/ Wildbirds & Peacedrums”

  1. […] Artist of the Moment: Wildbirds & Peacedrums « Orangenial […]

  2. You’re right, it is pretty cool the way that they use the drums as the centerpiece of their music. It’s interesting to see a group that doesn’t use any instruments that carry a melody. Especially since I don’t think that many groups do interesting things on drums. I think her voice is a little strange right now, but maybe if I see her open for Lykke Li I’ll get a better idea of it.

  3. Yeah, even on stage her vocals are a bit strange. Actually, at the Synagogue, the percussion was more clear than her vocals. I think I started to find her voice intriguing because I saw her perform it and just seeing the flow of her actions correlating to her vocals helped? In the beginning, her vocals sounded very hypnotic and chantlike. I realize that sounds odd but yeah, it definitely takes time to grow, unlike the drums which have been amazing from the first listen.

  4. […] Artist of the Moment: Wildbirds & Peacedrums « Orangenial […]

  5. […] Artist of the Moment: Wildbirds & Peacedrums « Orangenial […]

Leave a Reply

 
