Best Of/ Singles of 2009

brought to you by Sherlock Holmes, whose depravity knows no bounds, and the Na’vi people of Pandora!

Not Quite Orange:
Hot Chip – Take It In
The Hundred in the Hands – Dressed in Dresden
Jay Sean – Down
Leon Jean-Marie – East End Blues
Soulja Boy – Kiss Me Thru the Phone
Wallpaper. – T Rex

30 | Don Omar – Virtual Diva
I was just recently introduced to this song and it was immediately awesome! The video matches the song and the vocals actually work with the music as well.

29 | Cobra Starship featuring Leighton Meester – Good Girls Go Bad
Not only is this a fun song, but it has a fun video to accompany it. Too bad Leighton tries too hard in the video. It’s also too bad it makes me think Blair is out making music, rather than the person who plays Blair.

28 | Beyonce – Sweet Dreams
Beyonce has had a great year when it comes to singles and this was my personal favorite. I would have been higher had I not been disappointed with the video. Still, can’t deny how great of a song this is.

27 | 30H!3 featuring Katy Perry – Starstrukk
Now this is a video where you can tell everyone is having fun, in addition to it being a fun song and video. Katy looks genuine in this video and I think she’s the main reason why I even really liked this song.

*26 | Danger – 11h30
I don’t even know if this is really a single, hence the low position, but this was a great song to discover via iTunes.

25 | Jeremih – Imma Star (Everywhere We Are)
Oh man, this video is so corny, I love it! I think that’s actually why it’s this high. Well, that and memories of Fall 2009.

24 | Infected Mushroom featuring Jonathan Davis – Smashing the Opponent
This wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for Jonathan Davis. The music is catchy and the video is remotely amusing but it’s Jonathan’s voice that really makes the deal.

23 | Ke$ha – TiK Tok
The video did not disappoint and who doesn’t like waking up in the morning, feeling like P. Diddy?

22 | Drake & Trey Songz – Successful
Yes, I know there are different versions of this song. Nonetheless, both help in reminding me about Fall 2009. Also, while the hook is catchy, I definitely like Drake’s verses more.

*21 | Bamboo Shoots – This World is Beautiful
This song is beautiful! It is probably one of the few songs I heard that has great vocals and a great use of tablas. I don’t particularly know if it is a single, because I could not find any videos or singles listed on the site, but it was still one of my favorite songs I heard by Bamboo Shoots.

*20 | Love Grenades – Tigers in the Fire
Oh, Chuck, how many songs and artists you introduce to me. I just wish there was a lot more material released by Love Grenades and that they didn’t just tour in LA!

Note: An asterisk (*) means that no single video that could be found.


19\ Blake Lewis – Sad Song
It took me forever to realize Blake Lewis had a new single out, let alone a new album. Nonetheless, this is a good song. The video, on the other hand, was pretty weak. The clothes are great and most can relate to some form of shaving but is that really all you could offer when singing “this is a sad song”?


18\ Passion Pit – The Reeling
I saw this on mtvU and I was hooked from the beginning. I actually heard this before i heard Sleepyhead, Passion Pit’s previous single. It’s nice whenever I hear it but it would rarely stick afterwards.


17\ OK Go – WTF
Ever since I saw this video, I’ve been intrigued by the song. However, I just have never been big on OK Go. It’s a simple video with basic features but I really like that! It may seem messy but at least it’s somewhat different. They always have interesting singles, especially that treadmill video (who can forget that?!) but nothing ever completely pulls me in for a full album. It’s worth checking out as a single at least!


16\ Dragonette – Fixin’ to Thrill
Can’t lie… Dragonette are still pretty darn great as a new artist but even this single was disappointing to their first single from their first album. It was still pretty great but nothing about this worked as well.


15\ Alexis y Fido – Ojos Que No Ven
Alright, these random spanish songs are all courtesy of a friend and MTV Tr3s. There’s just something about Alexis y Fido… they somehow manage to make depressing topics (like mutual cheating, WTF?) into really upbeat catchy music. Not only that, they look pretty darn good in this neatly made video. Yeah, I don’t hate Reggaeton at all…


14\ Rihanna – Hard
This year-end would not be valid if it did not have Rihanna somewhere and since this was one of her two-singles released this year, I figured this one was the better choice just because of the badass song and video. She somehow managed to look tough but adorable in the same video. Pretty amazing.


13\ Amanda Blank – Might Like You Better
Plain and simple song that happens to be quite visually appealing. She’s done collaborations with Santigold and M.I.A. She also toured with Santigold! This song works well as an introduction to her solo work.


12\ Paramore – Brick by Boring Brick
This is one of my favorite songs from the album and I love the video! The lyrics seem to be talking about fairy tale land and reality, and it’s one of the topics that I always thought about when it came to what gets told to children versus what adults really go through. Either way, song hit close to home and is definitely worth checking out.

11\ Black Eyed Peas – Meet Me Halfway 

My favorite single by Black Eyed Peas this year. At first I had no idea that it was even the Black Eyed Peas… but then the vocals sort of gave me this feeling that perhaps it was… and yeah, still surprised about that. This is such a great song to listen to when driving and I heard this so many times this year, it’s ridiculous. The radio loves it and I can’t blame them!


10\ Fever Ray – When I Grow Up

Fever Ray has got the eerie/odd music down. She used to be part of the Knife but decided to do solo work and I believe she does it pretty darn well; she has a certain edge that The Knife didn’t. This video, for example, has her looking like a kid at times and it goes well with the song.


09\ Katy Perry – Waking Up in Vegas

Oh, overexposure… how you change my views. After seeing this video more than I ever wanted to, I sort of started to fall in love with it. This scene, in particular, is my favorite because she actually looks concerned about the fake ID. Katy Perry knows how to come up with addictive lyrics and catchy tunes and she’s darn adorable at the same time!


08\ Arctic Monkeys – Cornerstone

First time I saw this video, I was hooked. The Arctic Monkeys album was pretty good but this song was a bit forgetful on it’s own. I love when videos make you like the song more and this definitely did that! Not only does Alex Turner look so vulnerable but I love the simplicity of this video. It had to be one of their cheapest videos and yet they managed to make it suit the song. At least I thought so. This is probably my favorite scene because he illustrates certain lines such as closeness. Cute.


07\ YACHT – Psychic City (Voodoo City)

This was my song of the summer and randomly throughout the seasons. It is just so energetic and fun! That is why the video really really threw me off at first. Honestly, I was even a bit disappointed at first, which is why it is this low. However, the more I saw it as it’s own thing, the more I came to realize that it worked. I still think the video could have better catered to the song itself but oh well. Either way, this was still one of my favorites of the year! If nothing else, this should be heard while driving… also another song to blast, haha.

~ by Ke on January 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
