Limelight/ The XX – “Islands” & Ellie Goulding

Okay, it’s been a while since I fell in love with a video. I’m sure the last time I did, I did not have such an urge to write something, but this is obviously not one of those times. For some reason, I heard The XX last year but I did not really fall in love with them. I had a friend who simply adored them but they seemed alright to me… a bit overrated, if you ask me. It was probably because almost every indie music blog mentioned them around the same time and I honestly could not see anything that incredibly special. Until now. I present to you, the video for “Islands” by The XX.

The reason why I love this so much? It’s a simple concept because I recognized the repetition but still felt like it could turn out pretty great. The lyrics started to sink in a bit more as I saw familiar frames pop up but with some of the changes, I sort of started to feel the music a bit more too. In a way, everything emphasized everything else. I am sure it was just me but it was pretty great, especially the ending with how the sequence synced in with the final notes. It’s great, but don’t take my word for it. If there’s a different analysis, I’d love to hear.

As for Ellie Goulding, I tended to somewhat ignore her with her first single, Starry Eyed. It was not that I thought she was average. I just honestly forgot hearing it. When you tend to have few random moments of new music, you tend to find it easy to miss out on good music because of the amount of music crammed at that exact moment. Sadly I know this has happened quite often and I’ve been working on having it happen less. It’s just really hard since my moods for new music come so rarely and I tend to want to listen to a lot of stuff during those moments. Oh well.  The point? She reminds me of a mix of Kate Nash and Lykke Li in a weird way (Kate Nash has new stuff out, btw!) and is definitely worth checking out.

Video: Ellie Goulding – “Starry Eyed

The song that really got me to wonder about her was “Salt Skin“. As soon as I heard that, I knew I had to figure out who this singer was.. .and turned out, I had already heard two of her songs. I don’t know what that says about my listening habits and/or memory (both are probably weak) but I feel like others should not have to make the same mistakes! I am somewhat disappointed in her video for “Under the Sheets” but I will not let that keep me from listening to the rest of her songs. I just wish she approached that song with more creativity, since she could have done so much more rather than still continue to focus on herself and her gestures in videos.

Still, I love her voice, her pronunciation, and her oddly chosen phrases. Her style is quite strong as well, which I appreciate. It’s still perfectly electronic pop, similar to that of Little Boots or even La Roux, but she almost makes it sound orchestrated due to her singing style. It’s pretty remarkable. I look forward to eventually hearing her full album.

Ellie Goulding – Salt Skin

~ by Ke on May 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
